Cabled and green

Remember that box of yarn that came in the post last November? Some of it has become a cardigan.

This is Metro by Connie Chang Chinchio, a pattern I fell in love with as soon as I saw it in Twist Collective. Those three-quarter sleeves! That understated cabling, growing from ribbing, flowering briefly, and dissolving back unto that whence it came! The seamless construction! That casual-but-pretty, throw-on-with-any-outfit charm! Perfect.

And then there was that WEBS special of free postage for Knitting Daily subscribers, where they forgot to add ‘US addresses only’. Forty dollars worth of international postage at no charge? Yes, please. I wanted to make this a trans-seasonal cardigan and so set out in search of a good wool/cotton blend yarn (having read somewhere that fibre composed of 50% wool and 50% cotton is greater than the sum of its parts). A user review pretty much made the decision for me: ‘Just buy it. You won’t be disappointed.’ And the winner is Spud & Chloe Sweater.

That anonymous reviewer was totally right. This yarn would be a bargain at twice the price. When you’re knitting it feels like wool, soft, bouncy and without the crispness that cotton and cotton-blend yarns often have, but it’s cool enough to wear in spring and autumn. And according to the manufacturers you can machine wash and tumble dry it (though of course I’ve no plans for any such sacrilege). It’s marketed as a children’s yarn and most of the colourways are pretty strong, but if you can go with that it’s amazing. I would definitely use this again and again.

Knitting such a beautiful, cleverly-constructed pattern from such fantastic yarn was a joy. I hate seaming and tend to choose patterns that allow me to avoid it, but raglans often don’t flatter broad shoulders. Metro’s sleeves are picked up around the armhole, the cap shaped with short rows, and the sleeve worked in the round. I’d heard of this sleeve technique and was anxious to try it. Now having done it twice (once for each sleeve, see) I am convinced this is the only way to knit sleeves. Ever.

The only modifications I made to this pattern were to graft the shoulders instead of using a three-needle bind off, and to knit the sleeves to fit my long arms instead of to the written measurement. I’d be very tempted to make this again, and the only thing I’d change is the size. You’ll notice it looks fairly snug on me, which is a result of the evil gauge gremlins changing my gauge between swatch and garment (again). However the difference wasn’t enough to make it unwearable so I decided not to frog.

Pretty damn awesome, if I do say so myself. Everything about this was good: great yarn, fun to knit, great to wear, good-looking, and a pretty good fit. My green metro is ravelled here.

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “Cabled and green”

  1. Lix Says:

    Beautiful cardi – and wait, WEBS had free international shipping?! Probably for the best I missed that one but still – curses! Happy easter x

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.