Planning

Please excuse the recent quietness—life has been a bit hectic the last couple of weeks. I’m making a trip to the USA soon (three sleeps!) and have been busy planning this, as well as organising another trip to Melbourne, trying to keep up with work, and getting over my cold.

It’s hard to believe I’m leaving so soon. I’ve been planning this trip for months and it’s always seemed so far away, and now it is suddenly upon me. It’s my first professional trip overseas—I’m going to a conference on Stellar Pulsation, something that’s very closely linked to my thesis. It will also be the first time I’ve given a talk about my research outside my home institution, which makes me kind of nervous but kind of excited! As little as a year ago the prospect of giving a talk about my research to professional Astronomers gave me the willies. But sometime in the last year that seems to have disappeared. Maybe it has something to do with the workshop on presenting I did in November? Maybe it’s that I finally feel like I’m beginning to know what I’m talking about? In any case this is a good thing, because giving talks will be a major part of my career.

In between writing my talk, organising my flights, applying for travel grants and goodness knows what else, I’ve managed to find out a little about Santa Fe (where the conference is) and am looking forward to exploring it in the limited free time I’ll have there. Finding out where the yarn shops are has of course been a priority. I’m also lucky enough to be visiting a friend in Boston as well, and I’m excited about both catching up and seeing this beautiful city. The whole trip is less than two weeks, so it’ll be a bit of a whirlwind, but I’m determined to pack as much as possible into that time—scientifically, socially, and culturally. I’ve always loved discovering new places.

With any luck, I’ll be able to post some updates of my adventures while I’m away, so stay tuned!

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Planning”

  1. Dad Says:

    Hi, Chris.

    Hope the travel has gone well and you are fighting off the swine flu meanies!!

    My football team defeated Ipswich 5-0. We only had 10 players – they only had 8 so it was an unfair advantage. Still, it is our first win of the season. I think there was a feeling of relief more than exultation. We had plenty of shots on goal but they all went towards the goalkeeper!!

    Hope you managed to survive your knitting withdrawal symptoms on the flight over. Must be tough when you are so addicted!

    We’ve just farewelled our Indonesian visitor – Heri stayed with us from Tuesday to Sunday and spent 3 days with the school at Pittsworth. Mum and the visitors went to the Bunya Mountains on Saturday to show them the Aussie wildlife. I told them to watch out for the ‘Drop Bears’!

    Santa Fe is an old time Western town – features in a number of old western movies. Watch out for the gunslingers and the outlaws and stay away from the hotels where the liquour is watered down and straight out of the still – ‘rot gut’. I’m sure they make something of their Wild West past as part of their tourism.

    Have a great time.

    Love,

    Dad

Leave a Reply

