Hello, Boston

My last couple of days in Santa Fe seemed to go by in a whirlwind of conference talks, knitting, and people. The conference dinner on Thursday night went off as expected—there’s always at least one Astronomer who shows up in some outlandish outift

o...kay...

but apart from that it was a reasonably classy night, enjoying the balmy evening on a terrace above Santa Fe. We were lucky enough to hear an address by Robert Christy, an elderly Astronomer who was (and is) definitely one of the giants in the field of Stellar Pulsation.

The conference ended mid-afternoon on Friday and I had a bit of time before the bus left to take us all back to Albuquerque, so I wandered around the town for the last time. While munching a tasty chocolate croissant (last one left at the bakery!) I wandered into the cathedral park where I found this band playing.

ande

At first I thought they were glockenspiels (they’re very like them) but later I found out they’re marimbas, a traditional Zimbabwean instrument. All tuned to different octaves, and with drums to help, it made very rhythmic but very chilled music—perfect for relaxing in the park. I bought their CD and can’t wait to listen to it.

The next morning, after a brief night at a forgettable hotel in Albuquerque, I was once again in transit. Albuquerque to Denver, then Denver to Boston, and to Eduard! One of my very good friends from Stromlo who now lives here.

The little I saw of Cambridge yesterday afternoon and last night was beautiful. Spring is in full swing here (such a lovely change from the cold of home and the dry of Santa Fe) and I can’t wait to explore it more today! I think I’ll be taking lots of photos. We walked to a lovely restaurant (with great cocktails, incidentally) for dinner last night, and I think I made the walk almost twice as long because I kept stopping to look at everyone’s garden. I’ve never seen so many rhododendrons!

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “Hello, Boston”

  1. sissorlove Says:

    When are you headed back my astrologicalfaegirl?

Leave a Reply

