Spinning Camp!

I had a wonderful weekend at Spinning Camp. A weekend in a quiet green valley outside town, with all meals laid on, and nothing to do except spin, knit, chat and relax. The weather even played nice for most of the time too. Here is what I did.

Moved into the (quite large) shared room. I am a pro, this mess only took five minutes to make.

my mess

Enjoyed the views of bush, mountains and sky

view

Spent a lot of time spinning in a light, airy room with many other spinners and knitting in the sun outside

a bobbin of spinners

Spun, and plied, the whole of the red treetops fibre I brought. Isn’t it lovely and chunky? These reds make me think of lipsticks.

red slubby pretty

Stocked up on things to spin at the camp shop (alpaca, polwarth + silk, wool + bamboo, and merino)

brand new fibre stash

Put some things on the show and tell table (and played clotheshorse in the show and tell fashion parade), and marvelled at the skill and ingenuity showed in some of the pieces.

show and tell

Learnt to Navajo-ply, and managed to do a whole bobbin without mistakes (plus some of the red above)

first navajo plying

Wandered off into the bush to enjoy the view

afternoon sun and gumtrees

Spied on the kangaroos

skippies

And swooned over the softness of my semi-solid indigo merino. It was like spinning butter. So lustrous and pretty.

indigo lovely

All up, a very satisfying weekend, and a valuable resource for a novice spinner. I hope I can go back next year, this time with my own wheel.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Spinning Camp!”

  1. sissorlove Says:

    you make me feel a little glow of adoration inside :)

  2. Lipstick cowl « An odd assortment Says:

    […] knitted from yarn I spun myself! This is what became of the beautiful treetops merino I spun at Spinning Camp last October. And as well as its luscious lipstick colours and incredible buttery softness, […]

Leave a Reply

