Hoot!

And now, at long last, for your entertainment, with an all-singing, all-dancing cast, we present…the owls jumper.

tu-whit tu-whoo

Finished. At long last. Technically it was wearable (knitted and blocked) a few weeks ago, and it did have a couple of outings (impatient? me?) but it wasn’t finished, not really, until the buttons were sewn on. Forty-two damn buttons, the last one attached just in time for me to wear the jumper in the Spinning Camp fashion parade. But now the owls have eyes. They can see, they are proper owls, and it is finished.

dealing midnight death on silent wings

And I am so happy. This jumper is everything I imagined and hoped it would be, and more. It fits like a dream, and for my second sweater ever that’s a dream come true. The yarn, Cascade Eco, is a little itchy but starting to soften. The colour is natural and perfect—the first time I’ve found undyed wool that suits my fair skin. You should knit this pattern. You really should, it’s easy and ingenius and flattering. And it’s free (on Ravelry). Kate Davies, you are amazing.

parliament is sitting

Ravelers can see my project deets here. This could probably be knit in a quarter of the time it took me, but I had other knitting commitments. I’m not usually one to rejoice in the cold of winter encroaching upon spring, but today’s dreary weather meant my finished owls had at least one proper outing. At one point I was worried their wings would stay folded until next year.

hoot!

Until recently I wouldn’t have said that I have a particular thing for owls. But the owls jumper has been preceded by Oscar the Owl bag, and the vintage Owl jug and tumbler set. And I think I have some owl pyjamas somewhere too. Is it possible to have a favourite motif without realising it?

Tags: ,

8 Responses to “Hoot!”

  1. sissorlove Says:

    love it…completely and utterly.

  2. Emilee Says:

    I love how it turned out!

  3. bells Says:

    it’s SO GOOD. It does suit your slim frame so perfectly. Well done!! I wish I was more inclined towards jumpers than cardigans. I’d make this in a heartbeat.

  4. Alex Says:

    Looks fab on you.

  5. Kelly Says:

    It looks fantastic! :D Congratulations! Looking at your pictures makes me want to get off this shawl-knitting bent I’m on and knit one of the tops/jumpers/cardigans I’ve got in my queue…

  6. margaret Says:

    It looks just so lovely on you, and probably off you too! Gonna print this out for Oma!

  7. My favourite meat « An odd assortment Says:

    […] It’s funny that it’s never before occurred to me to write about my love for lamb, since everyone who knows me is surely by now sick of me waxing lyrical about it every time meat comes up in conversation. But I guess sometimes I don’t realise obvious things…remember my owls epiphany? […]

  8. Owl clock « An odd assortment Says:

    […] Well I say new—it’s a vintage piece I bought on Etsy. The wait was (subjectively) interminable, but in reality probably reasonable. Hurrah for feeding my owl addiction! […]

Leave a Reply

