New wheel

I almost forgot to tell you, but I bought a spinning wheel last week!

sickinger

It’s great to finally have my very own wheel. I wasn’t sorry to see the back of the Guild’s Ashford, heavy clunky thing that it was. This one is sooo much easier to get in the car—it sits on the front seat, carefully restrained by a seatbelt. And I was beginning to find the limits of the Ashford’s capabilities, especially its ability to spin bulky yarn (practically nonexistent). This is a secondhand Sickinger (an Australian make) that came with five bobbins, a handy bobbin-carrier/upright lazy kate thing, and a jumbo flyer as well as the normal sized one. Yay! It’s all pretty and just about all the wooden parts have been nicely turned—something that makes the girls at Spinning Group think it must be an Esther, the top of the line model. Double yay! I took it to spinning last week and had fun showing it off, learning its quirks and talking shop. I think the Sickinger and I are going to be very happy together.

Tags: ,

5 Responses to “New wheel”

  1. Anthea Says:

    Lucky gril! (Found your blog via Google) My mum has one that I borrowed for a couple of years and I LOVE it. They’re gorgeous to spin on aren’t they! And they travel so well. So many good points about them. May you have many years of joy with it. Love your scaly sequinned mermaid dress too btw. It looks great on you :)

  2. Katy Lewis Says:

    Hi there!
    I just found a Sickinger wheel the other day, but being that it was from a garage sale, I have no information on how to operate it and so forth.

    Would you be willing to help me out?

    • lacepetticoat Says:

      Hi Katy,
      The best advice I can give is that you should seek out your local Spinners and Weavers Guild, or ask around your knitting contacts for someone who is familiar with such a wheel. They’re fairly straightforward and anyone familiar with upright wheels should be able to show you how to use it. And in my experience it’s best to learn spinning firsthand from an expert, as opposed to teaching yourself from a set of instructions.
      Good luck!

  3. Judy dickens Says:

    Hello , Just off the phone with Erhard Sickinger(son) who also made the wheels.. and he strongly recommended oiling with Wattle Scandinavian Teak Oil .. as part of the maintenance of the wood. Not making wheels at the moment , but intends to . , so you are lucky to find this one.

  4. Karen Says:

    Your wheel is ‘Gretel’, very similar to the ‘Esther’. Esther has little spokes inbetween the large spokes and does not have the slot at the axle. Very similar though and a wonderful wheel.

Leave a Reply

