Pasta with broad beans, lemon and herbs

I made this quick, tasty and relatively healthy pasta for dinner last night, so I thought I’d share it with you.

Pasta is my go-to meal when I’m short on time, can’t think of anything else, or am in need of comfort food. The pasta dishes I cook the most tend to be the fast sort—if you can do everything in the time it takes the pasta to cook, then I’m all over it like a rash. You do need to spend a few extra minutes shelling the broad beans here, but after that it’s simple and speedy.

Pasta with Broad Beans, Lemon and Herbs

serves 3

250g pasta (to be honest I usually just use what looks like the right amount instead of weighing it)

250g frozen broad beans (so much easier than buying them fresh!)

75g butter

half a bunch of basil, finely chopped

1/3 of a bunch of parsley, roughly chopped (you could really use any herbs that take your fancy, or that you have lying around)

juice and zest of half a lemon

salt and freshly ground black pepper

a block of parmesan, for grating

Add your frozen broad beans to a small pot of boiling water and blanch for 2-3 minutes. Drain, rinse under cold water, and then squeeze the bright green beans out of the tough greyish skin. Keep the beans but chuck the skins, they’re tough and nasty.

Bring a large pot of salted water to the boil and add the pasta. Cook for 10-12 minutes, according to the packet directions. Meanwhile, warm the butter over a medium-low heat in a small frypan. Once melted, add the shelled broad beans and gently warm them—they shouldn’t fry.

Once the pasta is nearly cooked, add the finely chopped basil and finely grated lemon zest to the broad beans and stir around to coat in butter and heat through. Take the beans off the heat and add the lemon juice, and salt and pepper to taste.

Drain the pasta, reserving a little of the cooking water. Put the pasta back in the saucepan and add reserved water, beans, parsley, and finely grated parmesan. Mix it all together, then serve with some extra parmesan and lemon on the side, so people can adjust the flavours to their liking. Quick and tasty!

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Pasta with broad beans, lemon and herbs”

  1. sissorlove Says:

    I’m sure i’ve seen pre shelled broad beans… maybe they were canned though… not as nice..

  2. bells Says:

    i’m making this for dinner tonight with broad beans I grew last year, blanched and froze. I figure it’s about time I used the last of them!

  3. Kelly Says:

    I thought to myself “I have to comment on this post!” because I LOVE broad beans. I’m sure my parents thought I was strange for loving things like broad beans, brocolli and brussel sprouts all through my childhood when other kids were turning their noses up at far lesser vegetables. I went to the Dandenong Markets with my mum when I was down in Melbourne recently and bought (amongst other things) some fried broad beans. They’re SO yummy! I wish I could find somewhere in Canberra that sold such things…

    I think I’m going to have to try this recipe as well, after I find some broad beans to use. :)

Leave a Reply

